Sabbath Reflections

Mondays are my day off…and my Sabbath (day of rest and spiritual reflection). Below are some of the passages and thoughts I experienced this morning.

 

Jabez was more honorable than his brothers; and his mother called his name Jabez, saying, “Because I bore him in pain.” Jabez called upon the God of Israel, saying, “Oh that you would bless me and enlarge my border, and that your hand might be with me, and that you would keep me from harm so that it might not bring me pain!” And God granted what he asked. (1 Chronicles 4:9, 10 ESV)

The prayer of Jabez was simple, short, and specific. The Bible refers to his as honorable. And I’m assuming he had a significant amount of faith, because we are told that ‘God granted what he asked.’

And when he (Saul) had come to Jerusalem, he attempted to join the disciples. And they were all afraid of him, for they did not believe that he was a disciple. But Barnabas took him and brought him to the apostles and declared to them how on the road he had seen the Lord, who spoke to him, and how at Damascus he had preached boldly in the name of Jesus. (Acts 9:26, 27 ESV)

Sometimes our brothers or sisters need our help affirming their credibility. Whether they’re a new christian or truly on the right path back to walking with Jesus, the Lord may call on you or I to come along side them for a season. May we notice these times and be available when we are called.

And he said to them, “Take care, and be on your guard against all covetousness, for one’s life does not consist in the abundance of his possessions.” (Luke 12:15 ESV)

God is not opposed to us having wealth, things, or abundant joy. But he does warn us to not allow these things to take his place as God. His heart is for you and I to desire him above all these things. Keep your life free from love of money, and be content with what you have, for he has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you.” (Hebrews 13:5 ESV) The key point is this. Whether we have great need or are in need of absolutely nothing, we always have our God. He is our greatest possession.

May this bless you as much as it has me today. What is God speaking to you?

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Life, Random

Leave a Reply

