The Church is not a Bully!

photo by: www.itsprimalprotection.comI had one bully all through school. And this one guy was responsible for most of my middle school and high school years being less than a pleasant experience. I dreaded going to school. Always asking myself, “How am I going to get hurt today?”

Church is much the same way for many people. There are bound to be some ‘bullies‘ in every church, but don’t allow them to keep you from the maximum benefits of doing life with the rest of the Church family…God’s family.

God does his work through the church…and it is always good! ‘His’ will is always perfect. Unfortunately, sometimes people insist on doing ‘their’ work in the church and call it the Lord’s. Everywhere you go there will be those who are very passionate about their personal agendas. The Church is no exception.

But just like I would have missed out on an education and diploma if I had allowed my bully to keep me from school, you and I often allow unpleasant people or circumstances to keep us from Church. Thus, keeping us distant from much of what God has in store for us.

The church then had peace throughout Judea, Galilee, and Samaria, and it became stronger as the believers lived in the fear of the Lord. And with the encouragement of the Holy Spirit, it also grew in numbers. (Acts 9:31 NLT)

Did you see that? There is strength and unity in the Church when God”s people are honestly more focused on Him than anything else in life.

Personally, I’ve been hurt as much as the next person by church-related issues. Multiple times, and at multiple churches, I can remember being frightened or anxious arriving to walk in the building, not wanting to come into contact with a particular individual. Even as a staff member, I’ve struggled in these situations.

But not anymore!

The Lord has led me to a place of healing and security in His Church that is almost inexplainable. Let me encourage you today. Don’t give up on God and His people. He longs to bless healthy Church community that keeps Him in clear focus. So find that family of believers to connect with, and prepare an overflow of God’s love.

Leave me a comment below or a voicemail.

Leave a comment

Filed under Church, Faith, Leadership

Leave a Reply

