“I want my nap!”

photo by:  ©iStockphoto.com/sturti

photo by: ©iStockphoto.com/sturti

“I need a nap more than my workout today.”

Translated…”I want a nap more than anything else right now!”  (said with an ever so slight whine)

This was my Friday afternoon.  A 6:30 am meeting at work began my day, followed by a full day of work and running errands around town.  By 2:30, I had hit that ‘brick wall’ and my brain literally began to shut down.  So, I told my wife that I’d probably not go to the gym with her and grab me a nap instead.  Understand, we have been working out together 6 days a week since the first of January (2013).  She didn’t really give me a choice.  She said, “Oh, no…you’re going to workout today.  And you’ll thank me later.”

Well, I went.  I exercised.  And I did not get my nap.

BUT…

…I did thank my wife!

Afterward, I felt a new energy and alertness.  I was so glad she challenged me.

There is a lot to be said for having accountability built in to our life.  Even if it takes someone you love telling you that your priorities are unaligned.

So encourage each other and build each other up…    1 Thessalonians 5:11a

Question:  What priorities of yours are out of order?  Or…who do you need to encourage to stay on track today?

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Life, Relationships

Leave a Reply

