Be thankful for life’s crap!

photo by: notesfromthecove.com

Seriously, when was the last dart in the back or broken down car that you actually said, “Wow, I’m so glad I had that experience?”  You’ve heard it said that one man’s trash is another’s treasure.  Its true!  Its all in our perspective.  As I was catching up on some blog reading of my own, one of my friend’s blogs really inspired me to do some reflecting of my own.  So here’s my very authentic list of thankful points for the year.  Can you relate to any of these?

I’m thankful…

…for spiritually dry periods of my life because they cause me to crave after Jesus more aggressively.

…when finances are sometimes a little tight.  These times teach me better stewardship of my blessings.

…that there are times when work gets heavy and I feel like I’m drowning.  Sometimes this is what it takes to force me to take a better look at how I’m budgeting my time and planning my week.

…for all the incredibly unhealthy churches I’ve served in with my wife over the past 20+ years.  Until recently, I have not been able to see that everything wasn’t terrible, and that our current church is truly one of a kind…and to continually thank God for this gift!

…that despite all the crap my four kids have endured as PKs (referring to previous point), none of them are hooked on drugs, pregnant, partying on the weekends, or doing time in jail.  Not because of stellar parenting, but an abundance of God’s grace and a loving and praying church family.

…for a merciful, loving, and gifted wife who was handed to me from Heaven!  In spite of my multitude of shortcomings and failures as the spiritual head of our home, she has always stood by me and encouraged the best in me.  She really is my best friend and life partner.

Since everything God created is good, we should not reject any of it but receive it with thanks.  For we know it is made acceptable by the word of God and prayer.  1 Timothy 4:4-5 (NLT)

How about your list?  Are there things you would mention today that you might not have before?

3 Comments

Filed under Faith, Life, Relationships

3 responses to “Be thankful for life’s crap!

  1. Dude. Thanks for the pingback! Totally made my day.

    And thanks for having the guts to put the word “crap” in a blog post title. You are my new blogging hero. 🙂

    Blessings to you, Brent!!

  2. Cleaning out the ox stall is a dirty smelly job, but a lot of works gets done by the ox. Heard or read that somewhere before? Maybe tough places in life are when the ox’s strength shows most: not forgetting God’s faithfulness in seeing us through.

Leave a Reply

