I didn’t have time today.

photo by: lifehack.org

How many times have we all said those words?  I didn’t have time to…

…make breakfast, so I grabbed fast-food

…excercise

…brush my teeth (gross)

…tell my kids I love them

…sit together with the family for dinner

…spend 15 minutes with Jesus this morning

Lately, I’ve been catching myself starting to say  “I didn’t have time to fill in the blank.”  You know what I’ve found?  I can easily swap out the word ‘have‘ for ‘make‘ and the statement becomes more accurate….every time!  Of course, the difficulty is being humble and brutally honest with ourself.  Take a look at this verse.

For everything there is a season, a time for every activity under heaven.   Ecclesiastes 3:1

You see, its a lie that we don’t have time.  We really do.  Admit it.  You and I have the same amount of time to work with every day.  Its a delicate matter of stewardship, and there are 3 keys which drive this expense account.

Priorities – For me, waking up 30 minutes earlier in the morning to spend some much needed time in God’s Word was a decision I had to make for myself.  The trade-off was worth losing that small amount of sleep.  Its healthy to regularly re-examine our priorities and look at why we are giving one particular time expense more importance than something else.

Determination – The ability to say ‘NO’ is critical when dealing with time management.  I recall a recent author who said that we must learn the art of saying NO to many good things in order that we are able to say YES to a few great things.

Accountability – To really be intentional about making every minute of your day count, build accountability into it.  Make a couple small changes at first.  Then, tell a co-worker, small group, spouse, or friend about those items and ask them to simply ask you regularly how you’re doing.

I’ve given you an easy way to remember these.  PDA is commonly known as Public Displays of Affection.  Ironically, if we are able to put into practice healthy Priorities, Determination, and Accountability….the results may very well be observed as forms of Public Displays of Affection.

Do any of your priorities need rearranging?  What great things have you said NO to in the past 6 months?  Who can be (or is) your accountability safety net?

Leave a comment

Filed under Faith, Life, Relationships

Leave a Reply

