Church Leadership

Recently, I was listening to a leadership podcast by Perry Noble.  Something he said really stuck with me and I thought I’d share it with you.  With regards to church leadership, specifically support staff and volunteers, he requires these three things:

In this order, they must love…

Jesus

…their church

…their Lead Pastor

I totally agree!  And this holds true for any church, any area of ministry, any circumstance.  This level of profession clarifies their individual salvation and walk with Christ.  It also determines their commitment of service and loyalty to their church.  Lastly, it says this… “I care for my Pastor, and I fully support his calling and vision for this church.”

Now, this doesn’t mean that everyone should simply agree with their pastor on everything.  All leadership, especially pastors, need accountability.  But Biblical accountability needs to come from those who can honestly say that they love Jesus, their church, and the Pastor.  Anyone who cannot make these three basic statements should not be in key leadership in the Church…period.

I am happy to say that I am currently serving on staff at a church where it is very easy to make these statements.  In my 24 years of being a Christian and serving in various churches, I’m sad to say that this hasn’t always been the case.

What are your thoughts and experiences on this topic?  Do you agree or disagree?  Post your comments below.

1 Comment

Filed under Church, Leadership

One response to “Church Leadership

  1. Kelly

    I totally agree and am happy to say that even though I am not on staff I believe that this holds true with all of us. In everything we do God should come first and then the church/family and then work or in this case our pastor ;0). I have attended many churches before we felt called to be at CCC and for the first time we can say we are “home”. It is good to be home!

Leave a Reply

