When FAITH Is No Longer Required

Now faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.     Hebrews 11:1  (NIV)

I was reading more in ‘Seizing Your Devine Moment’ today. McManus made what I thought to be a very profound spiritual claim after referencing the passage above. He said, “Once something is a certainty, it no longer requires faith. Do not be surprised that what God asked of you yesterday is insufficient for your journey of faith today.” Now, I don’t know about you, but this has proven to be so true in my life. I can’t begin to tell you how many things in my past took immense steps of faith for me. And as I discovered this morning…the vast majority of those ‘leaps of faith’ would not be challenging for me today. I think it’s kind of like riding roller coasters. In general, you may enjoy them…but what if you had the chance to ride the largest & fastest roller coaster in the country? You may experience some nervousness, some anxiety as you approach the boarding area. In fact, the thought of saying, “forget this” might even come to mind more than once. The more you are exposed to enduring that particular roller coaster, however, the more familiar (certain) you become of the experience & the outcome.

Our willingness to walk with Jesus is quite similar in comparison. There will be times when He says, “Come on, get on this ride with me” and we reply with “Are you nuts?”

Today, ask yourself this question. Does my life today require faith…or am I just cruising in what is certain? If you are going to be certain of anything this week, be certain of this.God is a God of growth & challenge. Step out into where you have never been before. It will enrich your life, and God will bless others through you!

1 Comment

Filed under Faith, Life

One response to “When FAITH Is No Longer Required

  1. Debra Reaume

    Much to think about. Thanks, Brent.

Leave a Reply

